This month, we’re enabling the Partner account functionality we’ve been working on. This blog post provides a quick sketch of why we have three types of accounts, and how we hope leveraging the three types of accounts will help you better visualize, prioritize, and collaborate on projects and work-in-progress.

Full user accounts

Full User accounts (we’ll refer to these accounts as simply “Users”) are designed to make it easy for Workspace Users to do what they need to do, all while providing guard rails under certain conditions that enable your Users to be more productive.

User accounts are designed to let them do everything they might need to do on a regular basis, for example editing and creating items, collaborating with colleagues, and finding and sharing information. In general, Users have read and write access to all of the information in a particular Workspace, unless you limit them to specific groups, in which case they will have access only to those groups and not others. Our hope is to make User accounts as useful as possible for teams and organizations who can be most effective when they share information and collaborate transparently.

Administrative user accounts

Administrative (or simply “Admin”) accounts expand on the features available to User accounts with a few features added so that Admins can configure the Workspace. Admins can edit groups and workflows, define Workspace themes, and configure User permissions on a per-account basis.

User and Admin accounts have access to all the information they need to manage day-to-day work in progress. Admins also have access to make changes to how information is managed in the Workspace. You are free to make any account User or Admin as is most convenient for you, and both are billed at the same rate. With a small team, it may be most convenient to configure all accounts to have Admin permissions. On larger teams, only those individuals who make changes to the Workspace configuration can be Admins with the balance Users, and the roles can change over time as needed.

Partner user accounts

Partner accounts are available for a number of situations where you want to share a subset of the information that you are managing in the Workspace in a controlled way. Users with Partner accounts are only given read access to information that is explicitly shared with them, and are not able to view cost information or details on contacts. For example, you can use a Partner account to provide a subcontractor the information they need to participate in a project without having to share information you don’t want to share. In other cases, you may also find that Partner accounts allow you to work more closely with your customers. Regular User and Admin accounts can preview what Partner accounts experience, so that if you make use of them it is easy to understand what Partner accounts can and can’t do.

As always, we hope that the different types of accounts allow you to manage, visualize, and collaborate in ways that suit your teams and organization best. We’re always grateful when customers share what works well for them and where they see opportunities to better manage work-in-progress.

We thank you in advance for your candid and direct feedback!

Submit a comment

You may also like

How We're Using Material-UI
How We're Using Material-UI
18 June, 2020

We used a Material-UI component in an update we made today: a small menu to allow users to quickly change the priority o...

A New Wave of Productivity Software is Just Beginning
A New Wave of Productivity Software is Just Beginning
2 October, 2019

Benedict Evans of Silicon Valley venture capital firm Andreessen Horowitz (“a16z”) recently published a blog post titled...

Improve Subcontractor Productivity with Partner Accounts
Improve Subcontractor Productivity with Partner Accounts
29 March, 2022

Contract manufacturing requires close coordination and collaboration across complex supply chains. In the OND Precision ...